BOX OFFICE: 301-924-3400
Shows & Events

Our upcoming events are listed below:



Tue 6/5/18 7:30PM Olney Theatre Fundamentals of Sustainable and Impact Investment Seminar
Sat 6/23/18 5:00PM Olney Theatre On The Town - From the Bronx to the Battery to Broadway


<b>The Invisible Hand</b>
From the Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of Disgraced comes a thriller about Nick, an American options trader and Citibank executive, held hostage by a fringe radical group in Pakistan. In an ingenious twist on the Stockholm Syndrome, the American captive offers to earn his own ransom by investing a multi-million dollar portfolio on behalf of his Islamic captors. Assisted by his guard Bashir, he begins to harness the power of free markets to accumulate a fortune on behalf of the group’s leader, Imam Saleem. In the midst of violence, corruption and inequality, Bashir proves to be not just a sharp critic of Western materialism but also an apt pupil of Nick’s trading strategies as they form an uneasy alliance. Featuring Maboud Ebrahimzadeh, Ahmad Kamal and Thomas Keegan.
Sun 5/27/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Wed 5/30/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Wed 5/30/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Thu 5/31/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Fri 6/1/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Sat 6/2/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Sat 6/2/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Sun 6/3/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Wed 6/6/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Thu 6/7/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Fri 6/8/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Sat 6/9/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Sat 6/9/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand
Sun 6/10/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Invisible Hand


<b>Alan Cumming Sings Sappy Songs</b>
Alan Cumming Sings Sappy Songs for Olney Theatre Center's 80th Anniversary Gala.
To attend the Gala Reception prior to the performance, select the 6:00 pm event.
To attend the Performance, select the 8:00 pm event.
Both tickets include the Dessert Reception with an open bar (beer, wine, and signature cocktail) following the performance.
Sat 6/2/18 6:00PM Olney Theatre Gala Dinner, Alan Cumming Performance, and Post-Show Reception
Sat 6/2/18 8:00PM Mainstage Alan Cumming Performance and Post-Show Reception


<b>On The Town</b>
Three young sailors on shore-leave hit 1944 New York City in a mad sprint to find love before being shipped off to war. Gabey sets off in search of a beauty he’s only seen on a subway poster — that month’s Miss Turnstiles — while his comrades stumble into romances with a cabby who sets her own destinations and an anthropologist in search of the perfect “primitive man.” The manic coupling is set to an exuberant Leonard Bernstein score that begins with the classic “New York, New York” and from there reaches heights of classical and popular greatness. Comden & Green’s first Broadway hit grew out of a ballet that Jerome Robbins worked on with Bernstein, so this also promises to be one of the danciest shows of our season! On the Town stars some of DC’s favorite award-winning actors, including Evan Casey, Donna Migliaccio, Tracy Lynn Olivera, Bobby Smith, and Rachel Zampelli.
Wed 6/20/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Thu 6/21/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Fri 6/22/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sat 6/23/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sun 6/24/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Wed 6/27/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Wed 6/27/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Thu 6/28/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Fri 6/29/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sat 6/30/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sat 6/30/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sun 7/1/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Wed 7/4/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Thu 7/5/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Fri 7/6/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sat 7/7/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sat 7/7/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sun 7/8/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Wed 7/11/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Wed 7/11/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Thu 7/12/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Fri 7/13/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sat 7/14/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sat 7/14/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sun 7/15/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Wed 7/18/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Wed 7/18/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Thu 7/19/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Fri 7/20/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sat 7/21/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sat 7/21/18 8:00PM Mainstage On The Town
Sun 7/22/18 2:00PM Mainstage On The Town


<b>H.M.S. Pinafore</b>
They’re back! Chicago’s most innovative theatre company, The Hypocrites, return to introduce Olney audiences to their critically-acclaimed, immersive and family friendly version of Gilbert and Sullivan’s H.M.S. Pinafore. Enjoy the show from the promenade, where you sit on-stage and move around the set as the action dictates. And don’t forget to bring the kids! They can hang out in the pillow pit and experience these Gilbert and Sullivan classics in a way they’re sure to love and never forget. Their last gig at Olney Theatre earned two Helen Hayes Award nominations, so the secret is out — The Hypocrites’ substance is as rich as their style.
Dont' forget to complete the repertory! The Hypocrites are reprising their hit production of The Pirates of Penzance.
Wed 7/11/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Thu 7/12/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Fri 7/13/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sat 7/14/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sat 7/21/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sat 7/21/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sun 7/22/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Wed 7/25/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Wed 7/25/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Thu 7/26/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Fri 7/27/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sat 8/4/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sun 8/5/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Wed 8/8/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Wed 8/8/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Thu 8/9/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Fri 8/10/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sat 8/11/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sat 8/18/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sat 8/18/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore
Sun 8/19/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab H.M.S. Pinafore


<b>The Pirates of Penzance</b>
They’re back! Chicago’s most innovative theatre company, The Hypocrites, returns with an encore engagement of their critically-acclaimed, immersive and family friendly version of Gilbert and Sullivan’s The Pirates of Penzance. Enjoy the show from the promenade, where you sit on-stage and move around the set as the action dictates. And don’t forget to bring the kids! They can hang out in the ball pit and experience these Gilbert and Sullivan classics in a way they’re sure to love and never forget. Their last gig at Olney Theatre earned two Helen Hayes Award nominations, so the secret is out — The Hypocrites’ substance is as rich as their style.
Dont' forget to complete the repertory! The Hypocrites will also be introducing Olney Theatre audiences to their zany take on H.M.S. Pinafore.
Sun 7/15/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Wed 7/18/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Wed 7/18/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Thu 7/19/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Fri 7/20/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Sat 7/28/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Sat 7/28/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Sun 7/29/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Wed 8/1/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Wed 8/1/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Thu 8/2/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Fri 8/3/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Sat 8/4/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Sat 8/11/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Sun 8/12/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Wed 8/15/18 1:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Wed 8/15/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Thu 8/16/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance
Fri 8/17/18 7:45PM Mulitz-Gudelsky Theatre Lab The Pirates of Penzance


Applause Series
Sat 7/28/18 8:00PM Mainstage Candide